finding life’s treasures

treasure

Am learning a lot recently about embracing the moment.

About taking where I am right now and celebrating all the much goodness I find there.

About not always rushing through the hard times but searching within them for the treasures.

About the truth that my life has purpose. In every season. In every hour and minute there is purpose.

The 7 weeks of the school holidays long lurked in the distance like a black cloud and slowly came closer. For me, 7 weeks with routine out of the window, with 3 kids home full time when 2 of them are still only 6 months old to me despite being born nearly 2 years ago, was a disaster waiting to happen.

Or so I thought. As it turns out, “summer” (I use the term loosely!) is yet another aspect to this lesson I’m learning.

When there is no routine you can take time to say “yes”. Yes to pulling up at the building site to watch the diggers. Yes to stopping and figuring out what they’re growing in that field. Yes to letting him taking forever over choosing which yoghurts we’re going to buy. Yes to playing tickle chase with him. Yet to yet another round of “The wheels on the bus”. Yes to letting her sit and stroke your face and hair for what feels like an awkwardly long time, and yet she’s just catching up on all that getting to know you. Yes to breathing in the sunshine. Yes to jumping in puddles. Yes to making strange concoctions with mud and petals. Yes. Yes. Yes.

When all 3 kids are together for more than a few days for the first time ever they learn each other. They learn what makes each other giggle. They learn how to wind each other up. They learn how to relate to each other. They learn how they all fit together. They learn to entertain each other and leave me with some moments of rest. They learn to love each other.

When there is less stuff put on for us to go to we spend less time hiding in the busyness and get on with the business of family, of building our relationships, of letting ourselves be knitted together in a way that I think we’d have taken for granted if all our children were grown in my own womb.

The grace of it all is that we’re ready for this now. If the long 7 weeks had come a couple of months ago I think it would have been a different story. We’re ready to be thrown together, to become a little tribe in a way we’ve not been able to so far.

But then isn’t that always the way? That we have whatever we need to handle whatever comes our way. Sometimes it doesn’t feel like it, sometimes we have to dig pretty deep, we have to call on our closest people to hold up our arms when they’re failing, to cheer us on. But there is always a way through. And these ways through so often lead us to the treasures that are seemingly hidden:

The people who you didn’t know cared so much.

The things about yourself you didn’t know about, the good stuff you can celebrate and be thankful for, and the baggage you’ve carried around for years that you can finally be free of.

The precious jewels that are formed under only the most intense pressure in a marriage, in a family.

When every new life is born it comes with its very own treasure chest and a treasure trail ahead. No matter what we experience in life, no matter what comes our way there are more than enough treasures to fill it up. I am sure I have missed many so far, but I’m determined to find as many as I can today, tomorrow and the next day.

Because it’s these that make my life rich.

That make your life rich

About bethanywheeler

I'm Bethany, a thirtysomething wife and mum. I love my family, my friends and my church, and I'm passionate about being part of them becoming all they were created to be. I'm a talker. Hopefully I listen in equal measure. I love a good debate about real stuff, but only if it results in a list of actions!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to finding life’s treasures

  1. Jane says:

    From the heart as always and so insightful – another gem from my lovely daughter-in -law😘

Leave a Reply

