midnight sun and polar night

We’ve not had a whole load of sun the last few days, and I’ve been daydreaming about it!  I make no secret of being a bit (or a lot) of a sun-worshipper. I love feeling warm, I love being outside for hours on end, I love getting a tan. But something both obvious and significant has really struck me recently…

The inevitability of the sun. The fact that it rises each dawn. No matter how long or dark the night is, the sun will always come in the morning.

In different seasons of the year the days and nights are longer or shorter, but even in the depths of winter we have at least a few hours of daylight to give us hope for Spring.

It’s like this with the winters and dark nights of our lives. We all go through these times of varying degrees and lengths. And when you’re in the middle of one it is really easy to lose hope. It can feel like the morning will never come, that you won’t feel the warmth of the sun on your face again.

But the bible tells us that the troubles we go through are momentary, that one day we will be in the place where there are no more tears and there is no more suffering. The truth is that some struggles in life won’t end until we reach heaven, but in my experience there’s always just enough light to get through.

In some seasons of life it can feel like there’s no light at all, and its like living in the northern most point of Norway. Tromso is famous for having midnight sun in summer and no daylight at all in Winter. During the darkest weeks the sun never rises above the horizon. However, they do have twilight in the middle of the day, as the sun almost reaches above the horizon. So although they can’t actually see it, the sun is still there, their winter will end and the bright days of summer will come again.

And in dark difficult times I have been through, if I have chosen to look, I have been able to see evidence that God is in fact still there. That although I might not feel the full warmth of his love, presence and blessings on me there is this similar twilight, there is enough to be confident that God has good plans for me and that the sun will rise again. Sometimes it’s an encouraging word from a friend, and sometimes a special display of God’s creation. But God’s faithfulness has always meant that I’ve had just enough light at the end of the tunnel to cling onto.

It is often only when the sun comes up again and when you’re looking back that you can see God’s faithfulness. But none the less I can be absolutely sure that it’s there the whole time. Like the sun, even if its just below the horizon, when winter ends it will rise again.

 

About bethanywheeler

I'm Bethany, a thirtysomething wife and mum. I love my family, my friends and my church, and I'm passionate about being part of them becoming all they were created to be. I'm a talker. Hopefully I listen in equal measure. I love a good debate about real stuff, but only if it results in a list of actions!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to midnight sun and polar night

  1. Pingback: growing dead seeds into life | bethanywheeler

Leave a Reply

